Do platypuses glow in the dark?

Yes, they do. Platypuses glow because of something called biofluorescence. Biofluorescence is when a living organism absorbs short wavelengths of light — from the sun or another light source — and re-emits them as longer wavelengths of light. Biofluorescence is not bioluminescence.

---

Yes, platypuses glow because of something called biofluorescence. Biofluorescence is when a living organism absorbs short wavelengths of light — from the sun or another light source — and re-emits them as longer wavelengths of light. This is different from making the glow yourself like a firefly.