What is independence day the movie about?

An alien invasion using giant ships and millions of aliens who are shielded from our weapon. Eventually our side figures out a weapon that might work and a battle of technology and military weapons ensues. Th movie is filled with name actors. A good si-fi action movie.

---

space aliens invade earth and try to take it over.