Is smallpox fatal?

Smallpox is fatal in about 30% of cases, although efforts by the World Health Organization have nearly eradicated it from the Earth.

---

Smallpox is an extremely contagious and deadly virus for which there is no known cure. The last known case occurred in the United States in 1949 and due to worldwide vaccination programs, this disease has been completely eradicated. Smallpox is also known as variola.