Why does a milking stool only have three legs?

The reason why milk stools have only 3 legs is, that it is more stabile on uneven surface. While a stool with 4 legs on a hump would only rest on 2 legs and rock, stool with 3 legs will always stand firmly with all 3 legs on ground (similarly to camera tripods), albeit not always completely leveled.

---

If this is a joke, then the answer is, because the cow's got the udder. But if you really want an answer it's because 3 points, even if they are unequal in length, will be more stable than a 4-legged stool that has only a slight difference in leg length, regardless how uneven the terrain is.