Why does a milking stool only have three legs?

If this is a joke, then the answer is, because the cow's got the udder. But if you really want an answer it's because 3 points, even if they are unequal in length, will be more stable than a 4-legged stool that has only a slight difference in leg length, regardless how uneven the terrain is.