How high should a house be off the ground?

It depends on where you are and what ground and weather conditions are like in your area. In many locations, the floor of the house is a concrete slab poured directly on the ground. Near the ocean where hurricanes are a problem, the house would need to be 8 or 10 feet above the ground.