What year did einstein come up with the theory of relativity?

Galileo is credited with discovering relativity. It wasn't until 1905 when Einstein developed his theory of special relativity, which accounted for observations of the speed of light. Einstein expanded his theory to include acceleration and published his theory of general relativity in 1915.