What is the movie the matrix about?

There is currently 3 Matrix movies, with a 4th in the works. The Hero is called Neo who is the "One". He doesn't know this at first and thinks he is just a normal guy, until he is contacted by others from within the Matrix. Although all of the movies can be watched on their own, start with the first