Why do avocados turn red?

According to sciencing.com, Avocado pits contain a milky, bitter liquid, which turns red upon contact with oxygen, due to the high concentration of tannin in avocados. Only the avocado pit will turn red, and usually only after its surface has been broken or it is very overripe or decayed.