How long do you blanch french fries?

14.5 minutes Blanch fries in boiling water with 3% salt added (or to taste). Make sure the water temperature doesn't drop below 80°C. Blanch for 14.5 minutes. Drain fries on a cooling rack, but don't force dry them.

---

A typical recipe for french fries calls for the fries to be boiled for about five minutes. Then dried on paper towels for another ten minutes before frying.