Where does castoreum come from?

Castoreum, a real luxury ingredient. Castoreum, from the latin name of the animal Castoreum Canadense, is a oily substance obtained from 2 little internal pouches on the back of the Canadian beaver. These pouches or glands allows the beaver to oil his fur and to mark his territory.