Is baking soda and acid or a base?

According to Orenda, baking soda has a pH of about 8.3 to 8.6, which makes it basic, not acidic. Baking soda's chemical name is sodium bicarbonate, and is commonly used in swimming pools to increase total alkalinity and pH.

---

Base