What is extra sharp cheddar?

Sharp is the term that indicates how cheddar changes in flavor and texture as it ages. Mild cheddars are aged 2 to 3 months, sharp 6 to 9 months, and extra-sharp 18 months to 2 years old. As cheddar ages, it goes from mild to tangier with more complex and deeper flavors.