How happy is a clam?

The fuller version is 'as happy as a clam at high water'. Since clams can easily be dug up by humans when the tide is low then in high water clams are almost impossible to find. Therefore, at high tide, clams are, in theory, very happy that they won't be dug up for some beach goer's meal.