Who is joseph anton?

Joseph Anton is the alias chosen by author Salman Rushdie when he went into hiding in 1989, after being sentenced to death by the Ayatollah Khomeini. Joseph Anton: A Memoir is the title of the autobiography Rushdie wrote about that period in his life.