What was hopalong cassidy's real name?

Bill "Hop-along" Cassidy is a fictional cowboy hero created in 1904 by the author Clarence E. Mulford, who wrote a series of short stories and novels based on the character. The character as played by movie actor William Boyd from 1935 in films adapted from Mulford's books.