How is puerto rico created?

In 1508, Juan Ponce de León founded the first European settlement, Caparra, near a bay on the island's northern coast; Caparra was renamed Puerto Rico (or “rich port”) in 1521. Over time, people began referring to the entire island by that name, while the port city itself became San Juan.