What is the battle of geonosis?

In the Star Wars universe, the Battle of Geonosis, also referred to as the First Battle of Geonosis, was the first major battle fought in 22 BBY between the Confederacy of Independent Systems and the Galactic Republic on Geonosis, marking the beginning of the three-year Clone Wars.