How to substitute baking powder?

For every one tablespoon of baking powder a recipe calls for, sub in one teaspoon of baking soda, plus two teaspoons of an acid. Your acid can be cream of tartar, plain yogurt, lemon juice, self-raising flour, buttermilk or molasses to name a few.