How many pounds will a two by six hold?

A 2 by 6 will hold 4 lbs. per linear foot horizontally & 53 on its edge. Vertically, a 2 by 6 will hold between 662 & 998 pounds or over 7000 pounds when in a blocked & sheathed wall. However, other factors play a role, like the type & grade of wood, the type of load & the duration of the load.

---

12.