How do you soften sage?

There's no need to soften prior to use. Sage is generally chopped into a fine mince or ribbons and incorporated into dishes during cooking, or occasionally fried crisp as whole leaves & used as a garnish. Avoid sage that has yellow leaves or doesn't stand up straight when you hold it up by the stem.