Why is the sun yellow?

The sun appears to be yellow at times due to atmospheric scattering of the white light emitted from the sun.

---

The sun is actually white. But earth has an atmosphere, which impacts how we see the sun. As the light is filtered by the atmosphere, blue light is scattered making the sky appear blue, leaving yellow and red. Up high, the sun appears more yellowish, and on the horizon it appears more reddish.