Does the galaxy end?

Definitely. The Milky Way is a barred spiral galaxy with a diameter between 150,000 and 200,000 light-years (ly). It is estimated to contain 100–400 billion stars. The observable universe is several billion light years in diameter and is estimated to contain 100 billion to 200 billion galaxies.