What does s. and p. mean in the stock market?

It stands for Standard and Poors.

---

S. and P. is the abbreviation for Standards and Poor. It is a stock market index that tracks 500 publicly traded domestic companies. It is considered by many investors to be the best overall measurement of American stock market performance.