Who is rusty the dog?

The role of Rusty was played by Ace the Wonder Dog in the first feature, Adventures of Rusty (1945).A police dog named Rip took over the role for the second film, The Return of Rusty (1946).In the later films Rusty was played by Flame, a charismatic dog star who was featured in three separate series