What does guinea in guinea pig mean?

Guinea in guinea pig can be traced back to their original price in 16th-century England, where they could be bought for one guinea each. A guinea is an English gold coin used from 1663 to 1813 worth 21 shillings. It is thought the Spanish brought the animals back from South America in the 1500s.