What type of music does the clarinet play?

The clarinet is featured in many genres of music from fast paced polkas to beautifully mysterious solos in symphonies, to counter harmonies in dixieland. Benny Goodman and Artie Shaw made the clarinet one of the most versatile jazz instruments of the big band era. Need I say more?