What's the solar eclipse look like?

A total solar eclipse turns day into night, with only the sun's upper atmosphere, or corona, visible. Just before and after this period of totality, a diamond-ring effect accents the circular corona with a bright point of the sun's surface. Never look directly at the sun during an eclipse.