When did the first dishwasher come out?

Josephine Garis Cochran invented the first useful dishwasher in Shelbyville, Ill., on December 28, 1886. Cochran, a wealthy woman who entertained often, wanted a machine that could wash dishes faster than her servants, and without breaking them. When she couldn't find one, she built it herself.