What is march mammal madness?

March Mammal Madness is an alternate March Madness tournament focusing on simulated combat between mammals. Professor Katie Hinde of Arizona State University created March Mammal Madness in 2013, using a 64 animal bracket, with the goal of using biological research to create (simulated) battles.