When did mighty mouse come out?

Originally called Super Mouse, his first appearance was in the movie "Mouse of Tomorrow" in 1942. He was renamed Mighty Mouse in the film "The Wreck of the Hesperus" in 1944 and went on to star in 80 "shorts" or short films.