What makes a pitbull?

The American Pit Bull Terrier is a purebred dog breed recognized by the United Kennel Club and American Dog Breeders Association, but not the American Kennel Club. It is a medium-sized, solidly-built, intelligent, short-haired dog, whose early ancestors came from the British Isles.