Are publano peppers spicy?

Yes, spicy but not extreme. Pablano peppers are considered a mild to medium chili pepper. They rate 1 to 2 thousand Scoville units, hotter than banana peppers but milder than jalapeños. Chile Rellenos are traditionally and still most commonly stuffed fried pablano peppers.