Who is the pokemon missingno?

Missingno is not an actual pokemon, but the result of a glitch in the Gameboy games Pokemon Red and Blue, where a specific sequence of events results in data corruption allowing the player to battle, and catch, Missingno. The name Missingno is actually an error message meaning Missing Number.