Who started twerking?

Twerking has long been a part of black culture. It's only been in recent years that mainstream media began to acknowledge and accept it. The origins of twerking can be traced to Côte d'Ivoire in West Africa, where a similar style of dance, known as the Mapouka dance, was originated.