What is a t. l. a. s.?

That spells Atlas. In Greek mythology, Atlas was a Titan, one of the forerunners of the gods. He is often depicted as carrying the world on his shoulders. An atlas is also a book of maps or charts, and it was the name of an early US ICBM and space booster