How do you fish in pokemon shield?

To Fish You actually have to look for shadows on the water to use the fishing rod in Pokemon Sword and Shield. Once you've found a shadow or ripple on the water you will want to press the A Button to cast your line. If the rod shakes you need to press the A Button again to reel in the Pokemon.