What are phytoceramides?

The term “phyto” means plant, so “phytoceramides” are ceramides found in plants. Ceramides are a class of compounds, along with fatty acids, proteins and cholesterol found in the skin's outer layer, that help retain moisture. By plumping up the skin, moisture can reduce the appearance of wrinkles