Can you microwave tea bags?

Yes but microwaves heat liquids unevenly and create hot spots which won't let your tea steep properly. Another reason not to microwave is liquids can reach the boiling point without forming bubbles. Once the liquid is agitated (like when you drop in a teabag), it will bubble up and out of the cup.