What is where is mississippi?

There is a State called Mississippi, and a River called the Mississippi. The State is near Alabama and the Gulf of Mexico. The river is the 2nd largest in the United States, and runs from Lake Itasca in Central Minnesota to the Gulf of Mexico 2,348 miles away.