What's the difference between a shallot and a garlic?

The flavor of garlic is the strongest of the allium family. Garlic and shallots grow as bulbs, made up of cloves. Shallots have a mild garlic taste and even though it is clove type in looks, it has a more onion-like taste. Garlic scapes - the flower bud end of the plant - can be used like shallots.