What's the difference between purple cabbage and green cabbage?

Purple cabbage has a milder, sweeter flavor than it's green relatives. That is because it contains a compound called anthocyanin. This not only gives the cabbage it's dark purple color and sweeter flavor, but also makes it healthier.

---

It tastes similar to green cabbage. However, the purple variety is richer in beneficial plant compounds that have been linked to health benefits, such as stronger bones and a healthier heart. Purple cabbage is also thought to lower inflammation and protect against certain types of cancers.