What is the history of the biltmore estate?

In the 1880s, George Vanderbilt chose the Blue Ridge Mountains for a 250 room chateau to be built by architect Richard Morris Hunt. Vanderbilt named his estate Biltmore, combining De Bilt (his ancestors' place of origin in the Netherlands) with more (Anglo-Saxon for "moor", an open, rolling land).