Tell me about field spaniels?

The sturdy, medium-sized Field Spaniel dog breed was originally developed to retrieve game from land or water. Today, while he retains his excellent hunting skills, he is mainly a family companion and show dog and is rarely seen in the field. He loves people and is a loyal family friend.