What is the gnocchi?

Appropriately, gnocchi means “lumps” in Italian. They are small dumplings made with potatoes and flour. Cooked potatoes are mashed and combined with flour to create a dough that's then formed into small pieces for boiling.

---

Gnocchi are a variety of pasta consisting of various thick, small, and soft dough dumplings that may be made from semolina, ordinary wheat flour, egg, cheese, potato, breadcrumbs, cornmeal or similar ingredients, and possibly including flavorings of herbs, vegetables, cocoa or prunes.