How does fiber lower cholesterol?

How does fiber lower cholesterol? Grabs on to fats and cholesterol in the small intestines so that it’s excreted instead of absorbed into the bloodstream. Reduces the amount of bile salts reabsorbed from the intestine. The body then needs to make more bile salts and uses cholesterol to do this.