Why do crocodiles eat rocks?

Crocodiles eat rocks for the same reason chickens eat sand and little gravels: they have an organ called a gizzard or crop that grinds and processes the food they eat in order for their intestines to break down the nutrients for digestion. The rocks help break up the food chunks.