Why do wine bottles have quarks?

Cork is composed of suberin, a hydrophobic substance. Because of its impermeable, buoyant, elastic, and fire retardant properties, it is used to make wine stoppers. Because cork is elastic, it can change shape slightly, allowing for changes in pressure as the wine ferments.