What is santa claus called in japan?

In Japan Santa is known as santa-san (Mr Santa). Another Japanese gift bringer is Hoteiosho, a Japanese god of good fortune from Buddhism and not really related to Christmas. The Japanese New Year is more like a traditional Western Christmas.