Where is the saying the whole nine yards come from?

A .50 caliber machine gun belt is 27 feet long, which is equivalent to nine yards. Thus, the saying "I shot the whole nine yards"

---

The earliest known idiomatic use of the phrase is from 1907 in Southern Indiana. The phrase is related to the expression the whole six yards, used around the same time in Kentucky and South Carolina. Both phrases are variations on the whole ball of wax, first recorded in the 1880s.