What happens when there's a tie in the world cup?

If there is a tie in a World Cup match during the group stage, the game ends in a tie. In the knockout stage, the game goes into extra time with 2 fifteen-minute periods, no sudden death. If there is still a tie, they go to a penalty shootout.